jump to navigation

Random stuff.. April 19, 2006

Posted by mayankjain in Uncategorized.
add a comment

Its been quite a long while since i got the time, chance and inclination to write. I've been quite caught up with weekend trips, lots of work in office and finding enough time to cook and sleep. Germany's been great till now. I went to Karlsruhe and Stuttgart over the weekend, to meet murgi<vishal vaibhav>. He's doing a double diplome at the University. At the ID<International Department> I met Sahil and Udit. Sahil's doing his masters and Udit his bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. It would be an understatement to say that they are fun guys to hang out with. Deb and Jhaw<uffff, i'll tell this story sometime later> also came down from Paris. We had lots of fun clubbing in Karlsruhe. I've invited them here for this weekend, so hopefully some more fun is on the cards.

About the internship, the office is pretty good. I have some intelligent work to do. I need to figure out the India entry strategy for the Liquid Filtration segment of the Nonwovens business. My boss, Dr. Holger Leubner, is a cool guy, 32, unmarried, very intelligent and knowledgeable, and extremely curious about India. He's extremely helpful whenever i've had any sort of trouble. His boss, Mr. Thomas Miotk, is another smart guy. Very knowledgeable about his work, and again very curious about India and Indians. I have a nice little office, with a view of the mountains out of my window, the same one which I can see from my apartment window as well. I got here a day late than when I was expected, so they shifted my hotel to this place. It's about 15 minutes from the city centre, 2 minutes from the tram station and 5 minutes from the train station. Talk about centrally located. I'm at the intersection of the two biggest roads in Weinheim. It's a top floor  studio apartment, with a decent sized hall and an attached kitchen and bath. The coolest thing is the room service: they even clean the dishes! I even have a piano in my room. Pity I don't know how to play it. Food and drink are not a problem, though i still have to find shoe polish. It's slightly expensive to eat out, as I found out in Karlsruhe and Stuttgart.

What else..well, the HR woman is cute!! Ohh ya, the weather..it was absolutely brilliant weather on the first two days..sunny and chilly. But it got worse till about wednesday, rainy. Then it cleared up and has been good ever since, only the occasional shower. Temperatures have stayed between 12-16 degrees and 0-6 degrees, but we have indoor heating everywhere so no bother!